Home

PRE-ORDER ON AMAZON LATER THIS FALL

eaglebreaker3

NOW AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER AT SELECT RETAILERS:

 iBOOKS | BARNES & NOBLE KOBO

ORDER SIGNED, PERSONALIZED COPIES VIA THE CONTACT FORM BELOW

Three months after battling the Tyrant Prince and his armies, Morlen Eaglefriend has finally found his place in the world. But when a deadly woman from a treacherous mountain clan rumored to torture eagles into submission captures his dear companion, Roftome, he embarks on a quest more terrifying than any he has yet undertaken.  

Going alone into the Mountains of the Lost, Morlen treks an uncertain path through hostile forces that embody the grimmest legends. Worst of all are the Pyrnaq—wretched, twisted corruptions of the free eagles they once were—and their overwhelming presence is a constant reminder of the terrible fate that he must spare Roftome at all costs.

Despite the absence of their two strongest allies, King Verald and his sister Lady Valeine lead the Eaglemasters on a massive campaign to finally wipe the Ferotaur Wildlands clean of their ancient enemies. But as they delve deeper into the overrun wasteland, they hear whispers of a watchful evil that their intrusion might soon unleash.

On the opposite corner of the world and threatened on every side, Morlen finds that his only hope is to unite with one of the fierce ghouls he fought in his first adventure. And as the days pass into weeks, and months, he grows more afraid whether the end of his long journey will bring him face to face with the friend he lost, or… with something else.


“What happens when evocative writing and compelling storytelling collide and fuse together? You get a powerhouse novel like C.L. Murray‘s A Facet for the Gem, a tale unfolding in a generously described and developed world … If you want writing that soars and inspires, prose that chooses every word with care and driving determination, you would do well to pick up this book and fly into a world the author has thoroughly crafted for us.” —Author Eduardo Suastegui

“C.L. Murray’s tale of a young man fleeing for his life and running straight into the arms of destiny is a top notch epic fantasy adventure. Morlen is a likeable hero whose strengths and weaknesses hit all the right marks. The villain, Felkoth is the quintessential megalomaniac. Each heinous act he perpetrates adds to the desperateness of the hero’s situation and greatly accelerates the plot. The budding friendship between Morlen and the eagle Roftome is a definite highlight … Packed with marvelous creatures, exciting action sequences and a journey of self-discovery, I wholeheartedly recommend A Facet for the Gem to any lover of fantasy.” —Tracey Maknis from The Qwillery

“A Facet for the Gem is a lovely all ages epic fantasy and a solid debut novel. It has a little bit of everything: a lifelong outcast who finds his way to becoming a hero, a very peculiar wizard, an awakened ancient evil, a princess who outshines her brothers as a commander, talking eagles, epic named weapons and items of power.” —Rebecca, Amazon reviewer

OWN THE KINDLE BOOK, PAPERBACK, & AUDIOBOOK

Facet - 3

Morlen has never flown atop a great eagle. He’s spent his whole life in the shadows. But now, he’s about to embark on a thrilling adventure that leads him to the skies.

In a land of eagle-riding knights, bloodthirsty beasts, and a ruthless tyrant, young Morlen retreats from thousands of snapping jaws with the stolen Goldshard in his grasp. Its power to bestow strength and invincibility is just a panicked whisper away, and he feels he’d be naked without it while he fights the sinister forces that follow him at every turn.

A Facet for the Gem is a coming of age fantasy that brings Morlen from distant kingdoms to sprawling aerial battles, into the fiery breath of a stony dragon and side-by-side with a lady knight who is the last person to need rescuing. Follow him as his epic adventures culminate in a final showdown against swords, fangs, and greatest of all: his own fear.

More Praise for A Facet for the Gem

“A superb fantasy tale! If you are a fan of fantasy, then this one is a must-read! If you are a fan of Robin Hobb, then I suggest that you give Murray a shot, as there were some similarities, before Murray completely made it all his own. And for fans of Terry Goodkind, Murray explains the title of the book, brilliantly, just like one of Goodkind’s ‘Wizard’s Rules.'” —Book blogger Jason E. Berry

“An outstanding read recommended to all Epic Fantasy fans. There are a couple of in-air battles and they are epic, very well written and you really feel as though you are in the air experiencing the fighting. I commend Murray for getting these written so well as I can’t imagine finding the right words to write several pages of air based battle was easy.” —BrizzleLass Books

“I loved this story. So richly filled with adventure that I could not put it down. Morlen and Roftome were the perfect characters and I intend to read all of the books.” —Dionne, Amazon Reviewer

“Positive message with exciting, action packed battles. Full of interesting characters with something unique to offer. Fun adventure tale with a focus on believing in one’s capacity to succeed.” —Colin, Amazon Reviewer

“Combining depth of history and nation-spanning threats with a strong focus on character, Murray creates an epic fantasy without epic exposition.” —Author Dave Higgins

“An imaginative coming-of-age tale set in a vivid world rich with lore and fantastical creatures, C.L. Murray’s A Facet for the Gem reveals a legendary battle of good versus evil. The desperate lad Morlen uncovers more than he could have ever imagined as he discovers his past and the root of the nefarious evil gripping the land. The Tale of Eaglefriend, Volume 1, is a well-paced, exciting, fantasy adventure.” Author C. M. Skiera

“Murray’s writing is superb … I had a hard time putting down the book, forcing myself to stay awake just to read the next page.” —Amazon reviewer

“From humble beginnings to ‘Eaglefriend’ this book will captivate you! Learning to love each character, flaws and all was amazing. Each finding strength with each other and within themselves. Murray has so beautifully woven the story of a young boy growing into manhood. This is a book you cannot walk away from. Once started you will devour each page.” —Amazon reviewer

AUDIOBOOK NOW AVAILABLE

a-facet-audio-coverAnyone who owns the Kindle book can get the thrilling audiobook for just $7.50! And, if you enjoyed A Facet for the Gem, a review on Amazon and/or Audible is a tremendous help. Many thanks to the award-winning experts at Podium Publishing (King’s Dark Tidings, Dawn of Wonder, The Martian) and to narrator James Foster for his brilliant performance.

“Murray’s vivid descriptions transfer wonderfully to audio. The narrator, James Foster, does a great job bringing this story to life. His tones and inflections raise the story to a different level, rather than being monotonous; especially during the more emotional elements of the story and the battle scenes. Now, let’s hope that the next phase of this story is a live-action movie!” —Book blogger Jason E. Berry


Published at the end of February, 2016, A Facet for the Gem is the debut novel by C. L. Murray, and is the first in his four-part Epic Fantasy series: The Tale of Eaglefriend. It has been featured on ten Amazon Top 100 lists, ranking at #2 in Kindle Teen Epic Fantasy, and at #5 in Kindle Adult Epic Fantasy. Podium Publishing, the award-winning audiobook publisher whose first fiction title was Andy Weir’s The Martian, picked up the audible rights to The Tale of Eaglefriend five months after its debut, and narrator James Foster brings the first installment to life with a stellar performance. 

If you would like to contact the author or order signed, personalized paperbacks for $20, please submit your information through the form below, and you will receive a response within a few hours.